Equipment Review

  • Understanding and Adapting to AR Offset

    Back in the old days we never considered offset for the M-16. When it was better understood firearms trainers would stand on the line yelling “remember your offset”. What we have found from after action reviews is that under the extreme stress of life...

    Article • July 14th, 2011

  • ATVs & RUVs: Applications & Uses

    Both of the vehicles are pretty easy to learn, handle and enjoy. Pricing is not exorbitant and, like all vehicles, ATVs and RUVs can be bought on government contract so you / your agency may be able to ride on a state or county purchase contract in your...

    Article • July 8th, 2011

  • IF I KNEW THEN 2 - Book Review

    Chief Bill Harvey reviews "If I Knew Then 2: Warrior Reflections" for our readership.

    Article • July 1st, 2011

  • TRU-SPEC H2O Proof ECWCS Gen-2 Parka & Pants

    To make this easy (on me), Let me go ahead and list out the features as Tru-Spec details them on their website, and then will discuss how the "system" performed and how some of the features come in handy.

    Article • June 24th, 2011

  • Sound Suppressors: Addressing a Known Risk

    The fact that your agency made a conscious decision not to use them could very well land you in hot water and leave you open for litigation.

    Article • June 9th, 2011

  • 5.11 Tactical Scout Knife Review

    Well known for their "Royal Robbin's" pants, they expanded into other product lines to include knives. One of those knives, the Scout Folder, is the subject of this review.

    Article • May 27th, 2011

  • Gerber LHR Knife: A Field Test

    Anyone who has seen Harseys's or Reeve's work before will recognize some of their handiwork. The ergonomically shaped handle and the steady curve of the back of the grip that merges into the spine of the blade with a smoothness only interrupted by the...

    Article • May 20th, 2011

  • Kel-Tec PMR30: The World's Most Coveted Rimfire?

    Once we’ve graduated to full-bore, centerfire pistols and self-loading black rifles, .22 rimfire pistols don’t exactly blow our skirts up. I’m with you one that one. Or at least I was until recently.

    Article • May 13th, 2011

  • The Weaponlight Boogey Man

    By this time you’ve probably heard about the Force Science News report on weapon-mounted lights by Dr. Bill Lewinski. Specifically examined were the pistol-mounted lights with pressure-activated switches manufactured by SureFire.

    Article • April 19th, 2011

  • KA-BAR's TDI Folder

    I was quite delighted at SHOT Show this year to find the TDI Folder displayed at the KA-BAR booth. It's been in demand for some time and will prove more acceptable for uniform patrol.

    Article • April 8th, 2011

  • Review: Glock Model 17 Gen 4

    While shooting the pistols showed me that they were easy to handle and easy to shoot, the armorer training gave me the necessary insight into the design to appreciate the simplicity of it.

    Article • April 1st, 2011

  • Gerber River Shorty Blunt Knife

    Given that the knife is specifically designed for working on or near the water, I felt it would be best to test it while wet.

    Article • March 25th, 2011

  • AMK's Trauma Pak Review

    As a person who has long espoused the need for every police officer to have a basic trauma kit close at hand (if not on their person) I wanted to check out their Trauma Paks.

    Article • March 18th, 2011

  • Swiss Army Soft Grip Tinker

    When you look around the industry, the knives from Victorinox Swiss Army, more commonly referred to simply as Swiss Army knives, have always offered a decent level of versatility.

    Article • March 11th, 2011

  • Gerber Option 60 Flashlight

    The Gerber Option 60. It'll take CR-123, AA or AAA batteries. How can you beat that?

    Article • February 25th, 2011

  • Enhance your experience.

    Thank you for your regular readership of and visits to Officer.com. To continue viewing content on this site, please take a few moments to fill out the form below and register on this website.

    Registration is required to help ensure your access to featured content, and to maintain control of access to content that may be sensitive in nature to law enforcement.