Fla. Officers Receive National Honors for Heroic Actions in Fatal Shootout

Five officers from the St. Petersburg (Fla.) Police Department have been named Officers of the Month by the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund.

Sergeant Tom Baitinger and K-9 Officer Jeff Yaslowitz succumbed to injuries sustained during the incident. Due to the heroic actions of all of the officers involved, Deputy Marshal Ley survived.

Sergeant Karl Lounge and Officers Darrell Goodrow, Timothy McClintik, Max McDonald and Douglas Weaver all received the St. Petersburg (FL) Police Department’s Medal of Valor for their efforts in rescuing their injured officers. In addition, many other officers from the St. Petersburg Police Department and surrounding agencies that responded to the incident were also awarded for their courageous actions during a chaotic and dire situation.

Located in the nation’s capital, the National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund is a nonprofit organization dedicated to honoring the service and sacrifice of America’s law enforcement officers.

The Memorial Fund Officer of the Month Program began in September 1996 and recognizes federal, state and local officers who distinguish themselves through exemplary law enforcement service and devotion to duty.

The St. Petersburg officers, and other Officers of the Month for 2011, will be honored at a special awards luncheon in Washington, D.C., in May 2012 during National Police Week.

  • Enhance your experience.

    Thank you for your regular readership of and visits to Officer.com. To continue viewing content on this site, please take a few moments to fill out the form below and register on this website.

    Registration is required to help ensure your access to featured content, and to maintain control of access to content that may be sensitive in nature to law enforcement.