Seven-Layer Saftey

Emergency notification systems and the confusion surrounding them


     He advises managers to ask, "Is it reaching the intended audience? Is it cost effective? What is the time involved to create a response? What kind of technical support is involved? What percentage of people are taking advantage of the system? And, of course, what is the cost?"

     Choosing the seemingly "best tool" isn't enough. The target audience of an institution's emergency notification system, or its combination of technologies, should be informed and educated on what the system does, how the system does it, when a message will be sent and what the message may say.

     Turner adds, "The public perception of how we notify people in an emergency and what precautions to take is going to be driven by the technology and public perception."

     Editor's note: Additional information on the Campus Law Enforcement Emergency Response Act can be found at durbin.senate.gov. Further information on the WARN Act can be found at thomas.loc.gov. More information on the Jeanne Clery Act can be found at www.securityoncampus.org.

Emergency notification opportunities

     The Campus Law Enforcement Emergency Response Act authorizes the Department of Education to administer a competitive grant program for the development and improvement of response and procedures. Many companies have developed unique solutions for agencies, universities and colleges. The technologies offered can be broken into seven categories: e-mail; mobile text messaging; sirens; computer pop-ups; digital signs; loudspeakers; and telephone voice messages. The following sample-list of companies each offers a different solution to the emergency notification system:

3n www.3nonline.com
Alterus Emergency Warning System www.alertustech.com
AtHoc www.athoc.com
AutoComm www.autocomm-inc.com
Citizenobserver www.citizenobserver.com
Code Blue Corp. www.codeblue.com
ColdLight Solutions www.coldlightsolutions.com
Dialogic Communications Corp. www.dccusa.com
E2campus www.e2campus.com
Emergency Communications Network www.coderedweb.com
First Call www.firstcall.net
Interactive Mediums www.interactivemediums.com
MadahCom www.madah.com
MIR3 www.mir3.com
Mobile Campus www.mobilecampus.com
Netpresenter www.netpresenter.com
Rave Wireless www.ravewireless.com
Ready Alert www.readyalert.com
Roam Secure www.roamsecure.net
Skinkers www.skinkers.com
Voice Technologies www.voicetech.com
Whelen Engineering www.whelen.com
Zylaya www.zylaya.com
  • Enhance your experience.

    Thank you for your regular readership of and visits to Officer.com. To continue viewing content on this site, please take a few moments to fill out the form below and register on this website.

    Registration is required to help ensure your access to featured content, and to maintain control of access to content that may be sensitive in nature to law enforcement.