Equipment Review

  • SureStrike Laser Bullet

    The SureStrike Laser Bullet dry-fire training system comes in a nice neat small package about five inches long, three inches wide and an inch deep. You provide the safe weapon and let the training begin.

    Article • February 11th, 2011

  • BLACKHAWK! Evolution

    Based on consumer feedback, identified need in the field, and their own in-house creativity, BLACKHAWK! has steadily improved their SERPA line of holsters.

    Article • January 7th, 2011

  • Gerber Warrant Knife

    It’s a rare occasion (in my experience) to see a police officer with a fixed blade knife. Just because that’s the common reality though, doesn’t mean that there is no use for a fixed blade knife in the LE arena.

    Article • December 31st, 2010

  • Gerber Balance Multi-Tool

    In this multi-tool you can get to everything it offers without having to open it and the Keep It Simple Stupid theory is well applied.

    Article • December 24th, 2010

  • SafetyBright Products Review

    After testing these I'm going to be happy to put them both in my car.

    Article • December 17th, 2010

  • Cafe-2-Go

    Everyone who tried it that morning felt it was good tasting coffee; it was convenient; it required only the Cafe2Go box of contents and a gallon of potable water.

    Article • December 10th, 2010

  • KA-BAR Tanto Knife

    I've found tanto-style knife designs (in general) very strong and rugged enough to take the abuse I throw at them without issue.

    Article • December 3rd, 2010

  • Extreme Beam's Alpha Tac

    120 lumens is more than sufficient for tactical work. With that amount of light you can easily perform search functions and/or identify your target at handgun engagement distances.

    Article • November 26th, 2010

  • Gerber Guardian Back-Up Knife

    The Guardian Back-Up Alpha. Not too small, not too big, but plenty of performance in a conveniently sized package.

    Article • November 19th, 2010

  • Facility Emergency Management

    Knowing what to do when faced with an emergency can mean the difference between life and death.

    Article • November 12th, 2010

  • The Other New S&W Bodyguard

    Overall, I think the Bodyguard 38 has a great deal of potential, but it needs more work. For now, I'll stick with my trusty J-frames for backup carry.

    Article • November 11th, 2010

  • Holster Position Options

    Given that about 92% of the population is right handed, probably the most common place for carrying a gun is on or near the right hip. Why?

    Article • November 5th, 2010

  • Patrol Ready: The Police Carbine

    Officer.com Officer Survival columnist Kevin Davis was recently transferred back to patrol temporarily. Check out what carbine and accessories he elected to carry on street duty.

    Article • October 28th, 2010

  • The Smith & Wesson Bodyguard 380

    All in all, the Bodyguard 380 is certainly worth serious consideration, for those who are looking for this type of pistol. I think it will live up to its Bodyguard heritage.

    Article • October 14th, 2010

  • Review of Gladius Maximis Flashlight

    The original Gladius was the result of engineers trying to figure out how to give operators what they wanted rather than telling the operators what they could have.

    Article • October 8th, 2010

  • Enhance your experience.

    Thank you for your regular readership of and visits to Officer.com. To continue viewing content on this site, please take a few moments to fill out the form below and register on this website.

    Registration is required to help ensure your access to featured content, and to maintain control of access to content that may be sensitive in nature to law enforcement.